On The Needles This Week 08-04-13

20130407_195524

This weeks projects…and a cat

20130407_195504

Actually this week seems to be more of a “what’s off the needles” week! The convertible mittens were cast off at the weekend and the second one is being blocked at the moment! Next job for these finger warmer wonders is to attach a nice little flower button and then they’re ready for Etsy! Keep an eye out for this and other finished projects in the new “Off the Needles and Into the Shop” section which will be updated as soon as the items are up in the Etsy store.

One Wet and One Dry Mitt!

I’ve created fingerless mittens, full mittens and convertible fingerless mittens for the Etsy shop so I’m thinking the next obvious place to go are full on gloves So will be casting them on early this week hopefully! I think they’ll make a nice project to take the place of the Wave Pattern Cowl as my “on the go” project as it comes off the needles later today.

Wave Pattern Cowl On the Go

Wave Pattern Cowl On the Go

Hopefully when I get home from college today there’ll be a nice big parcel of some lovely green and indigo yarn after coming through the letterbox so I can get started into knitting the hat and scarf, only a small bit of designing left to do for the scarf which I can do as I go along. Have some nice ideas for the hat but I’m waiting until the scarf is finished before I finalize any of said ideas. Really looking forward to getting stuck into this one. Green and purple are two of my favourite colours put together so I’ll be very jealous handing this one over! We decided on using the same yarn I used for the fingerless mittens she already bought, it’s a lovely soft recycled cotton blend and knitted up very nicely in my chosen pattern which will feature in both the hat and the scarf. The colour here isn’t what I’ll be using for the project, I had a bit of this colour left over from the mitts so I knitted up a swatch. I like to keep all my swatches and label them to save time on future projects. They’re like a catalogue of yarns, gauges and stitch patterns for me to refer to whenever I need.

Lacy Pattern for scarf

Lacy Pattern for scarf

I’ve a couple of new orders in as well for new pieces, one of which is a girls cardigan so I’ll be venturing out of the hand-knitted accessories business into the hand-knitted garments business for a little while! Looking forward to this one, I’ve only ever knitted cardigans for myself or my little one so will be fun to work with new sizes and measurements,  a bit of an extra challenge is always welcome in my books when it comes to knitting!

I have a busy few weeks ahead of me with knitting orders, college, rehearsals and concerts so there may not be much more new projects going on the needles for April but I’ll keep you updated with how the new designs are growing. I’m very excited about them and looking forward to seeing what I come up with!

There’s also some a new logo in the pipeline so hopefully that will be unveiled soon!

A

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jennamakesthings
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 18:01:13

    Hi ya! I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award. ♥ It’s a nice way to recognise up and coming bloggers. Find out more at http://jennamakesthings.wordpress.com/2013/04/08/liebster-award-♥/

    Reply

  2. maureen15
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 00:44:32

    I love love love those mittens. The colors are so natural but still eye catching. Great stuff!

    Reply

  3. Twisted Stitches
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 21:31:00

    Thank you maureen15! I am big on colour and I absolutely adore natural and earthy colours. But I love adding splashes of more vibrant colours to things as well. I always love seeing contrasting colours in outfits, be they clashing or complimentary. And seeing little splashes of colour or detail that really make an outfit stand out, and that’s what I hope my knits will do for my customers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

